top of page
  • Writer's pictureOrange

★Reality bites, .... again★

Japanese is following after English.


After practicing English speaking with DVD, I started going to English language school as the last-minutes push.

It was 10 days before interview of tourist guide certification test.


One of the reasons, I need to practice talking with a real people, and the other reason trial lesson was reasonable price at the school I found.

Teachers are kind, cheerful, and nice.

I think I am lucky to be this language school.


But as you know, everything has an exception.I would like to tell the incident which happen on me 1 week after I started going to the school.


I asked the school staff, "Excuse me, but can I talk you a little?"


She answered bothersome, "Eh? I am going to have a trial lesson customer soon."


I said, "A little bit, it maybe a few minutes."


Her face became a dubious look.


I told her,

"I don't intend to be exaggerated, but can I ask teacher is better not to tell what students said at the lesson to other students.

Because when I heard teacher said, 'somebody said ******', I wonder, "Oh, this teacher may also tell others what I am speaking in the lesson.

I don't remember his name but I took the lesson last week."


I continued saying,

"In addition to it, that teacher's words were, 'One of the students is in love toward me and tries to get my attention, but I'm not interested in her at all, and I don't pay attention to her'.

Even if that might be true, he shouldn't say to others. It's nonsense"


The school staff said, "Oh, my god!"


"While the lesson, he said, 'Raise your hand, if you married', but I don't want to know other students marriage status.

I guess others also think so."


The school staff was shocked and holding her head.


"He said he is a university student major of communication, but I assume he doesn't learn anything at school.

He said to me 'Japanese women are prettier than American' at the lesson.

He said 'A student is in love', but if a woman is said such a phrase, she might think that guy is interested in her.


What a stupid! Even if guys speak together with such a topic, I feel sick when hearing from unknown guy.


Recently, the Internet announcement is progressed, English language school should be careful of this kind of thing."


The school staff was flustered and said with tears in her eyes,

"This school does interview before hiring teachers...."


I said,

"What? Anyway, it seems that you need to warn him not to say such a thing to students.

I don't study English for understanding such a stupid words.

Anyway, I shall keep a distance from that teacher, don't want to have lesson from him again."


The school staff was quiet.


I continued saying,

"But it is strange, I have never met such a strange teacher at English language school.

In addition to it, my friends are not do such a thing.

This is the first time to meet such a person.

What is he?


Anyway, I am lucky to talk with you today.

I noticed today's school staff is woman, so that I want to talk.

If it was a guy, it might be difficult to explain this kind of issue."


The school staff said,

"Yes, thanks for telling me. I am also happy to talk with you.

If you have any trouble, please let me know"


I said thanks to her, and have a lesson.


When I was leaving the school, I was greeting to her at the entrance,

"It's nice to talking with you. Thanks for today".


She answered,

"Thanks, too. It was on Thursday and found that he was Mr.****. I removed him from the shift."


I was surprised, "What? It's strange. I think thing becomes exaggerated."


She answerd, "No problem."


I wonder what's happen??


But a few weeks later, I realized the truth, the reason why the school staff said, "This school does interview before hiring teachers".

He maybe a bad young man.

I am sorry that his parents don't know anything and pay tuition fees at his university.


But I like this school very much.


DVDで英語を喋る練習をしていたのですが、私は最後の駆け込みで英会話学校に通い出しました。通訳案内士試験の10日前のことです。


人間と喋った方が良いと思ったのと、お得なトライアル料金の英会話学校を見つけたからです。


先生たちは、親切で、陽気で、人柄が良い人ばかりです。

私はこの英会話学校に行って良かったなぁと思っています。

しかし、ご存知の通り、何事にも例外があります。


英会話学校に通い出して1週間が経過した時に、私の身に起こったことをお話します。


私は、スクールスタッフに「すみません、ちょっとお話をしても良いですか?」と言いました。


スタッフの女性は「これから、トライアルレッスンのお客様がいらっしゃるんですけど」と、少し迷惑そうに言いました。


「ちょとだけなんです」と私が言うと、女性は怪訝な顔をしました。


私は「大袈裟なことを言うつもりはないんですけど、先生が他の生徒さんが喋ったことを、別の授業で喋るのはやめたほうが良いと思うんです。

そうでないと、『この先生、私が喋ったことを、別の生徒さんに喋っているのかしら?』って心配になってしまいます。

その先生の名前は忘れたんですけど、先週に授業を受けた人です」


私は続けて言いました。

「しかも、その先生の言うことが『生徒の女の子が僕に気があって、僕の関心を引こうとするんだけど、僕は彼女に興味がないから、相手にしていないんだ』って言うんです。もしもそれが本当だとしても、他の生徒さんの前で言うべきではないと思います。」


スタッフの女性は「ギョエー」と驚いていました。


「授業では『この中で、結婚している人は手を挙げて』って言ちゃって。そういうの、やめたほうが良いですよ。私は、同じ授業を受けただけの人たちの、そんなことまで知りたくないです、他の人たちだってそうなんじゃないですか?」


スタッフの女性は、頭を抱えていました。


「彼は大学でコミュニケーションを専攻していると言っていました。けれども、私は彼が学校で何も学んでいないと思います。


授業中に『アメリカ人の女の子よりも、日本人の女の子の方がかわいいよね』って言いながらニタニタ笑ってました。

この先生は『生徒が僕に気があって』って言ってたけど、そんなこと言われたら、女の子の方が『この人、私のことを好きなのかしら?』って思っちゃいますよ。

男の人同士だったら、そういう話をするのかもしれないけれども、私は聞きたくないです。

最近は、ネットに英会話学校の苦情を書き込む人が多いですし、学校は気を付けた方がいいんじゃないですか?」


スタッフの女性は驚愕して、涙を浮かべながら「うちは先生を雇う前に面接をしているのに・・・」とオロオロしていました。


「え?何ですか?とにかく、その先生には注意をした方がいいと思いますよ。

私はそんな言葉を理解するために英語の勉強をしているんじゃないです。

今後は、その先生には近寄らないように、その先生の授業を受けないようにしなくっちゃ」


スタッフの女性は、黙り込んでいました。


「それにしても、私は、あんな変な英語の先生に会ったことがありません。

友達でも、あんな人は居ないですね。

こんなことは初めてです。何だったんでしょうか?

いづれにせよ、今日、お話できて良かったです。

今日のスタッフは女性だなぁと思ったから、お話しやすいかなって思ったんです。

男の人だったら、状況を説明するのは難しかったかもしれない」


「はい、言って頂いてありがとうございました。お話できて良かったです。また何かあったら言って下さいね」と、スタッフの女性が言いました。

私はお礼を言って、英会話のレッスンを受けました。


学校から帰る時に、入口でスタッフの女性に挨拶をしました。

「今日はありがとうございました。」


「いえ、こちらこそありがとうございます。先ほどのは木曜日ですよね、講師は●●●でした。彼はシフトから外しましたから。」


私は驚いて、「え?それ、何ですか?話が大袈裟になっていませんか?」


スタッフさんは「いえ、大丈夫です」とお返事をしてくださいました。


私は、何が起こったのか分からなかったです。

しかし、数週間後、真実を悟りました。

スタッフの女性が「うちは先生を雇う前に面接をしているのに・・・」と言った意味が分かりました。


きっと、その先生は素行の悪い青年だったのだと思います。

そうとも知らず、ご両親は彼の大学の学費を払っているんだろうなぁと思うと、気の毒になりました。


けれども、私はこの学校が大好きです。

6 views0 comments
bottom of page