top of page
  • Writer's pictureOrange

When my patience run out

Updated: Mar 2, 2020

Japanese is following after English. 日本語は英語の下にあります。


When I showed around Tsukiji Fish Market to my classmate, I told her some stories concerned with guiding.

And now I would like to tell you one of them as following,


When I hold Tokyo Ryogoku Walking Tour, I heard one of the participants said to his companion when we were at the meeting place of the event,

“Pshaw! This is just aiming for earning pocket change, I assume.”

I showed around Ryogoku area such as Ryogoku Memorial Museum, Yasuda Japanese Garden, Sward Museum, and so on with explaining of history and culture in this area.


When I finished the guide walking tour and say thanks to the participants.


The person who said murmuring curse words was coming to me and asked,

“I am a school personnel and related with academic field, also responsible for carrier guidance.

Then can I ask you about this field job?”


I answered with smiling,

“I would say what I have learned from the instructors at the training for new tourist guides.


Once infectious disease, terrorism, natural disaster or bad economy happen, the tourism industry suddenly has been collapsed easily.

I hope you wouldn’t think you quit current job and want to become professional tourist guide.


This is all I can say, is this OK for your question?”


He said “Bah, I see.”

His attitude was a kind of rude but he continued saying with bowing,

“I enjoyed today’s your town walking tour.”


My classmate was surprised and said, “What?”


I said,

“In the first place, I don’t collect money from participants so that it’s impossible to earn pocket money.

He didn’t notice what he was saying.


However words somebody gives me, this is what I can answer to.


It just means foreign tourism industry gets such attention recently.

I have already made my resolution I wouldn't quit even though I have been said such a small detail thing, hahaha”


She was shocked and said, “Oh, no…..”


I have continued 2 years, and only this kind of small things happen on me.

This bodes well for my future.


Happy New Year to all of you :D

私がキレた瞬間


私がクラスメートの築地の下見に付き合って、ガイドについて説明した時に、色々なことを言った中で、こんなことを話しました。


両国町歩きツアーをした時に、集合場所で参加者の1人が、

「ふん、どうせ小遣い稼ぎだろうが」って言ってるのが聞こえてきたんだわ。


それで、両国の記念会館、安田庭園、刀剣博物館など色々な場所を案内して、ツアーが終わった時に、その人が私のところに来て言ったの。

「私は学校関係で働いていて、生徒の進路指導にも関わっているんだけど、こういうのってどうなんだね?」


にっこり笑って、私はお返事した。

「新人研修で講師の先生から教わったことをお話ししますと、


SARSなどの伝染病や、テロ、自然災害、不景気などになると、外国人観光客は一気にいなくなるから、観光ガイドはやっていけません。

間違っても、今の仕事を辞めてプロの観光ガイドになろうとは思わないように。


これでお返事になっていますでしょうか?」


そしたら、その人は「ふん!分かりました」って言って、

続けて「町歩きは楽しかったです」ってお辞儀して帰っていった。

横網町公園の記念館


クラスメイトは「え?」と驚いていました。


私は続けて言いました。

「そもそも、私は参加費を取っていないからお小遣い稼ぎができていないんだけどねぇ。

自分の言ってることが分かってないんだよ、その人。

何を言われても、私にはこういう返事しかできないから。

ま、それだけ観光ガイドが注目されてるってことよね。

もうね、私はそんなこと言われた程度で止めるつもりないんだって。

最初っから決めてたの。」


クラスメイトは、「え~」と呆気にとられていました。


2年間、ガイドをやってみて、この程度のことしか起こらないというのは、良い兆候かもしれない。


旧年中は大変お世話になりました。

今年もよろしくお願いします。

両国国技館内の神社。

8 views0 comments
bottom of page